Skip to Content

LBJ Civic Leadership Award

Photo of the LBJSC director with the award recipients

Congratulations to our FIRST LBJ Civic Leadership Award recipients, Chelsea Whittington (L), Fatima (Toomi) Al-Dhahi (C), and Gabriel Schrade (R)! Click here to learn more about our winners!  

Purpose Statement

The LBJ Civic Leadership Award honors the life and legacy of Lyndon Baines Johnson by recognizing outstanding civic service and meaningful involvement throughout the Texas State campus and the local community.  This award is given to students who take an active role in civic engagement, while gaining leadership experience and fostering a spirit of service to others.


Who do I nominate?

The recipients of the LBJ Civic Leadership Award uphold the core values of the LBJ Student Center: empowerment, respect, collaboration, service, stewardship, and excellence. Recipients exemplify the importance of education, academic success, community involvement and the celebration of equality and diversity. 

What are the application requirements? 

  • Completed Nomination form from Faculty, Staff or Graduate Assistant
  • Complete online application
  • Completed at least 1 semester at Texas State
  • Minimum 2.5 GPA (cumulative)
  • Interview

How are applicants selected?

  • Co-curricular transcript
  • Leadership experience
  • Civic engagement experience
  • Service experience
Application Timeline
Nomination Deadline March 24
Application Deadline March 31
Interview Days April 3-7
Awards Ceremony April 13

A separate application link will be sent to all nominees who meet the required criteria.